Finished product · Food and drink
Croissant
One butter croissant as made — 123 g of dough — with its 3 g of packaging
This page shows what the product is made of and where each figure comes from. It shows no death toll. The toll is computed from this bill of materials from session 19, and published only once it has an uncertainty interval and has passed a backtest.
The origin document's croissant (plan/06 §4), exactly: 65 g of flour, 30 g of butter, 5 g of sugar, 1 g of salt, 2 g of yeast and 20 g of water, 0.9 MJ of process energy, 3 g of packaging, 0.4 tonne-kilometres of transport and €0.35 of retail and service. A baker's formula uses more butter and liquid for the same flour, so this croissant is a lean one, and every line is INDICATIVE. The energy's carrier and the packaging's material are not stated by the source, so they reach no supply chain yet.
- Overall grade — indicative
- Status — draft
Is something on this page wrong? Report it →
What it is made of
Each line is one component of one butter croissant as made — 123 g of dough — with its 3 g of packaging: how much of it goes in, how much had to be produced for that, and where the figure comes from.
Down to raw materials
The whole chain multiplied out — everything one butter croissant as made — 123 g of dough — with its 3 g of packaging needs, through every intermediate product, with every loss on the way included.
| Input | Per functional unit |
|---|---|
| Fresh water | 20.0 mL |
| Milk | 652 g |
| Salt | 1.00 g |
| Sugar | 36.2 g |
| Wheat | 84.4 g |
| Baker's yeast (not in the register) | 2.00 g |
| Packaging (material not stated) (not in the register) | 3.00 g |
| Process energy (carrier not stated) (not in the register) | 0.900 MJ |
| Retail trade, except of motor vehicles and motorcycles (industry) | 0.350 € |
| Transportation and storage (industry) | 0.400 t·km |
An input marked “not in the register” is counted by mass and reaches no supply chain yet. Industries appear as the euros or tonne-kilometres the bill of materials gives them.
How much of it is explicit
100% of this product’s mass is explicit in its own bill of materials.
Its whole chain draws on 779 g of materials, losses included. 99% of that is registered raw materials — the part the model can trace harm to — 1% is inputs not yet in the register, and 0% is a declared remainder.
In the input–output model it belongs to “Manufacture of food products; beverages and tobacco products” (FIGARO industry C10-12).
In the input–output model it belongs to “Manufacture of food products; beverages and tobacco products” (FIGARO industry C10T12).
The number this page does not show
The harm in this chain is not shown.
The model allocates the harm counted where each raw material is produced to the products that use it. That number is a count of people with a run behind it and no uncertainty interval yet, and nothing of that kind is published before the backtest of session 21. What this page can show without it is the structure: what the product is made of, and where each part of that knowledge comes from.